High Tech Bicycle Fitting

May 7, 2009

In this article, the author reviewed Retul Bike Fitting.  Retul (pronounced like Re Tool), is a fairly new company based out of Colorado.  Retul uses similar methods to that found in my blog about the biomotion research at Stanford University.  Retul uses Velcro markers that attach to your wrist, elbow, shoulder, hip, knee, ankle, as well as the ball of your foot.  As you pedal a camera captures the positions of the markers through your pedal stroke, and how your body reacts as you try to produce more and more power.  As the author states the Retul fitting provides insight into things like leg length discrepancies.  I don’t think many people realize that most people don’t have two perfectly equal length legs.  I know when I have been to the chiropractor for baseball and other sports injuries, that I’ve seen I have a slight leg length discrepancy on x-rays…mostly caused by tweaking my hips from swinging a bat.  It was easily fixed as the chiropractor adjusted everything back straight and there was little if no leg length difference after.  Back to Retul fitting, by finding body position discrepancies as well as the most efficient position for power, etc., the guys at Retul have created a very effective positioning system.  A system which also relies on a qualified fitter.  All Retul fitters are supposedly properly trained, and from all the various reviews of people who had a Retul fit done, I have not heard complaints.

From an informatics point of view the Retul fit is an effective solution for proper bicycle fitting.  Is the system perfect? No, but it is probably a lot more accurate than the old school method of measure different lengths by a human.  I have never personally been to a Retul fitter or a professional fitter.  My father who races every weekend and rides well over 15,000 miles a year has been to a fitter, but not a Retul one, just one of the fitters that measures by hand.  My dad didn’t learn anything new from the fitter, so I really haven’t got super excited on spending money to get fitted.  Then again, I only ride my bike for fun and fitness, but if I was a weekend racer or pro, Retul would make great sense.  Professional fitting like the Retul fit system is very important, especially for pros and people who have lots of time and money.  When you spend thousands on bikes, gear, and if you’re a professional—wind tunnel time, fitting with Retul or similar systems is almost necessary.

Leave a comment